新加坡牛车水店屋

Chinatown Historic District - Shophouse for Sale in Chinatown

点击看大图

点击上面略图看大图….

 

 

牛车水店屋出售

有一个小中国人的社会生活在这一地区的英国殖民地政府指定它作为生活区的中国移民没过多久. 它是新加坡最大的保守历史街区, 包括在不同的时间而制定的四个子区域, 目前正由保护: 直落亚逸 (1820s), 牛车水 (1830s), 丹戎巴葛 (19世纪80年代后期) 和Bukit Pasoh (20世纪20年代初). 这些 4 区是介于两者之间的其他界域组成的新加坡河的“大镇”南, 中国本土术语市区,从驳船码头延伸到丹戎巴葛码头.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

 

唐人街保护店屋一些有趣的历史

在 1821, 大约有 1,000 中国人的生活在南区的新加坡河, 其中驳船码头今天是. 该区域主要包括了小丘和一对道路: 目前的直落亚逸 (沿原始海岸线跑) 和南桥路.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

在 1823, 莱佛士爵士指定的新加坡河西南部地区为“中国 “和”Chuliah “. 因此,除了中国, 许多南印度移民和穆斯林也搬到了面积,因此,马里安曼兴都庙和詹美回教堂清真寺建在桥南路, 而Durgha的Nagore靖国神社和Al-阿布拉清真寺沿着直落亚逸建, 上涌文戈的中国福建寺庙的两侧, 圣后宫庙和景德HWAY

中国城地区的商业心脏被称为 嘉叶谷 (在闽南语), LY-鸿水 (粤语), 和 钮尺水 (普通话), 这意味着 “犍水购物车”. 这些名字实际上指的是面积 牛车水 道路. 在马来语, 牛车水 手段 “水购物车”.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

这些车被用于自来水来临之前从井里打水. 由19世纪60年代中国人口已增长到大约 50,000. 店屋围绕马里安曼兴都庙和詹美回教堂清真寺作为飞地扩展到牛车水区. 苏伊士运河n的开放贸易后增加 1869 和直落亚逸盆地被开垦兴建新的店屋和码头.

通过 1900, 原“中国 甘榜“已经扩大到包括武吉Pasoh和丹戎巴葛地区, 增加人口约 164,000. 氏族康组织成立,并建立学校. 然而, 噪音和拥堵开车富裕的家庭走.

随着人口的继续增长, 人满为患, 拥堵和污染成为主要问题. 该地区的居民不得不用小环卫分享小隔间, 墙壁下垂, 潮湿的地板和鼠虫害. 秘密社团, 团伙犯罪和卖淫和鸦片烟馆蓬勃发展.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

生活条件第二次世界大战后进一步恶化,镇的部分被严重炸毁,加剧了岛上的住房短缺问题. 独立后, 1965, 新加坡政府承诺提供更好的公共住房,并通过老城区的大型城市重建计划改善人民的生活条件

作为一个整体, 整个城市化地区以南新加坡河是由中国社会各阶层称为“大镇”. 这与后来的城市发展,以新加坡河以北对比, 这是所谓的'小城镇',由于其密度较小的人口和以后的发展.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

但应当指出的是,术语“中国城”仅由英语为母语的社区应用到区域. 它不是被称为象这样在其他地方语言.

牛车水
该保护区是由新桥路为界, 公园路, 上十字街, 南桥路, 西米街, 丁加奴街和史密斯街. 它配备了两个- 和三层楼高的店屋建于过渡, 后期和装饰艺术风格. 这一地区是传统的粤菜社区谁在该地区定居相关. 牛车水收到保护状况 7 七月 1989.

直落亚逸
在直落亚逸子区由桥南路为界, 十字街, 文达街, 士丹利街, 麦卡勒姆街, 厦门街, 安祥路和厄斯金路. 其特点是早期的店屋, 过渡期的, 后期和装饰艺术风格的骑楼. 这一地区是传统上与福建相关的,也是南印度穆斯林社区, 谁沿原水前沿着今天的直落亚逸街跑结算. 该地区收到保护状况 7 七月 1989.

武吉Pasoh
这个丘陵区是由新桥路为界, 刘志强的Siak路, 牛车水路, 尼尔路与广东民路. 它包含两个- 和三层楼高的店屋, 主要是过渡, 后期和装饰艺术风格. 武吉Pasoh收到保护状况 7 七月 1989. 沿刘志强赛强之路的其他店屋收到保护状况 12 四月 1990, 而沿德廉道和刘志强的Siak路被赋予的保护状况 25 十月 1991.

丹戎巴葛
该地区是由Neil路为界, 麦士威路, 佩克佘街, Wallich街, 丹戎巴葛路和Craig路. 它的特点大多是二- 和三层楼高的早期的店屋, 过渡性及后期骑楼风格. 丹戎巴葛收到保护状况 7 七月 1989 并且是在没有新加坡的首个城市重建项目的地盘. 9 尼尔路, 该工作由市建局. 20世纪50年代现代风格的原敬华在电影院 1 丹戎巴葛路被赋予的保护状况 25 十一月 2005 并增加了各种在该地区的文物建筑.

89 尼尔路
这是一座三层, 新古典主义风格的建筑,是围绕 1924. 这是前英小金塘厂, 其中生产的国际知名的中国中药药剂, 万金油. 一个引人注目的特点是在屋顶的亭子. 这个建筑沿道尼尔收到保护状况 18 九月 1992 根据自愿保护计划.

 

唐人街的起源

唐人街的起源是与莱佛士爵士. 在 1822, 他形成了城市规划 根据族群规划新加坡镇委. 南面的新加坡河的面积为 由部门分配给同一省籍和语言组的中国和印度的移民. 中国的移民大部分来自中国的东南沿海省份.

 

Plan_of_the_Town_of_Singapore_(1822)_by_Lieutenant_Philip_Jackson Raffles town plan 2

 

闽南人形成多数, 其次Teochews, 广东话, 海南, 客家人和Foochows. 南印度人也发现自己的优势在这一领域, 虽然印度商业随后中心 文化生活搬到实龙岗路. 每个小组留下了印记的街道名称和礼拜场所.

 

店屋的建筑风格

唐人街的店屋可分为六个一般的风格. 该款式
大致按时间,并改变的结果,经济和技术
情况, 口味和潮流.

Early 1840-1900 Shophouses

低, 两层以最小的 石膏装饰
•本地采购的建设 使用的材料
•通常一个或两个木材 在上层高的窗户 外观

 

1st Transitional

•更高,更饰 在一个中国式由于熟练劳动力的大量涌入和日益富裕

•通常在两个窗口 上层展台外观

 

Late(1900-1940)

装饰性强
•由于增加了暴露于欧洲口味和时间时尚, 用饰有模石膏花饰和importedhand手绘瓷砖
•在上层高的外墙为最大通气量通常三个窗口

2nd Transitional

的中国和欧洲风格组合
•于晚式的更简单和更精简
•第三层往往添加到现有的两层楼建筑

Art Deco (1930-1960)

几何设计和使用预制组件
•给街角与建筑的constructionusually年度特别强调显示在外墙

Modern(1950-1970)

功能和简单的战后情况的反映

•如钢铁和用于钢筋混凝土工业材料

•常见的功能包括薄遮阳翅片与空气的通风口是既实用和装饰

 

 

Chinatown Historic District - Kreta Ayer Area Shophouse for Sale

Chinatown Historic District - Bukit Pasoh Area 华埠历史区 – 武吉Pasoh区

华埠历史区 – 牛车水区

Chinatown Historic District - Bukit Pasoh Area Shophouse for Sale

华埠历史区 – 武吉Pasoh区

Chinatown Historic District - Telok Ayer Area Shophouse for Sale

华埠历史区 – 直落亚逸区

 

* 店屋售 在唐人街

*提示新加坡骑楼销售

Singapore Chinatown Shophouse

Chinatown Historic District - Shophouse for Sale in Chinatown

Click to Enlarge

Click Above Thumnail to Enlarge….

 

 

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

There was a small Chinese community living in this area long before the British colonial administration designated it as the living quarters for Chinese immigrants. It is the largest conserved historic district in Singapore, comprising four sub-areas that were developed at different times, which are now under conservation: Telok Ayer (1820s), Kreta Ayer (1830s), Tanjong Pagar (late 1880s) and Bukit Pasoh (early 1920s). These 4 districts are in-between other precincts that make up the ‘Greater Town’ south of Singapore River, the local Chinese term for the urban district that stretched from Boat Quay to the Tanjong Pagar docks.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

 

Some Interesting History of Chinatown Conservation Shophouses

In 1821, there were about 1,000 Chinese living in the area south of the Singapore River, where Boat Quay is today. The area consisted largely of hillocks and a pair of roads: the current Telok Ayer (that ran along the original shoreline) and South Bridge Roads.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

In 1823, Sir Stamford Raffles designated the area southwest of the Singapore River as the “Chinese Kampung” and the “Chuliah Kampung”. Thus in addition to the Chinese, many South Indian migrants and Muslims also moved to the area and thus the Sri Mariamman Temple and Jamae Mosque were built on South Bridge Road, while the Nagore Durgha Shrine and the Al-Abrar Mosque were built along Telok Ayer, on either side of the Chinese Hokkien temple complex of Chung Wen Ge, Thian Hock Keng and Keng Teck Hway

The commercial heart of the Chinatown area is known as Gu Chia Chwi (in Hokkien), Ngau-che-shui (in Cantonese), and Niu Che Shui (in Mandarin), which  mean “bullock water-cart”.  These names actually refer to the area of Kreta Ayer Road. In Malay, Kreta Ayer means “Water cart”.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

These carts were used to fetch water from wells before the advent of tap water. By the 1860s the Chinese population had grown to about 50,000. Shophouses were built around the Sri Mariamman Temple and Jamae Mosque as the enclave expanded into the Kreta Ayer area. Trade increased after the opening of the Suez Canal n 1869 and the Telok Ayer Basin was reclaimed to construct new shophouses and docks.

By 1900, the original ‘Chinese Kampong’ had expanded to include the Bukit Pasoh and Tanjong Pagar areas, increasing the population to about 164,000. Clans and recreational organisations were set up and schools built. However, the noise and congestion drove wealthier families away.

As the population continued to grow, overcrowding, congestion and pollution became major problems. The area’s residents had to share small cubicles with little sanitation, sagging walls, damp floors and rat infestations. Secret societies, gang crimes and prostitution and opium dens thrived.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

Living conditions deteriorated further after World War Two as parts of the town were  badly bombed and exacerbated the housing shortage on the island. After independence in 1965, the Singapore government committed itself to providing better public housing and improving the population’s living conditions through a plan of large scale urban renewal of the old city

As a whole, the entire urbanised area south of Singapore River was known as ‘Greater Town’ by all segments of the Chinese community. This is in contrast with the later urban developments to the north of Singapore River, which was called ‘Lesser Town’ due to its less dense population and later development.

Chinatown Shophouse for Sale

It is to be noted that the term ‘Chinatown’ is only applied by the English-speaking community to the area. It is not termed as such in the other local languages.

Kreta Ayer
This conservation area is bounded by New Bridge Road, Park Road, Upper Cross Street, South Bridge Road, Sago Street, Trengganu Street and Smith Street. It features two- and three-storey shophouses built in the Transitional, Late and Art Deco styles. This area is traditionally associated with the Cantonese community who settled in the area. Kreta Ayer received conservation status on 7 July 1989.

Telok Ayer
The Telok Ayer sub-district is bounded by South Bridge Road, Cross Street, Boon Tat Street, Stanley Street, McCallum Street, Amoy Street, Ann Siang Road and Erskine Road. It features shophouses of the Early, Transitional, Late and Art Deco Shophouse styles. This area is traditionally associated with the Hokkien and also the South Indian Muslim community, who settled along the original water front that ran along today’s Telok Ayer Street. The area received conservation status on 7 July 1989.

Bukit Pasoh
This hilly area is bounded by New Bridge Road, Keong Siak Road, Kreta Ayer Road, Neil Road and Cantonment Road. It contains two- and three-storey shophouses, mostly of the Transitional, Late and Art Deco styles. Bukit Pasoh received conservation status on 7 July 1989. Additional shophouses along Keong Saik Road received conservation status on 12 April 1990, while those along Teck Lim Road and Keong Siak Road were given conservation status on 25 October 1991.

Tanjong Pagar
The area is bounded by Neil Road, Maxwell Road, Peck Seah Street, Wallich Street, Tanjong Pagar Road and Craig Road. It features mostly two- and three-storey shophouses of the Early, Transitional and Late Shophouse styles. Tanjong Pagar received conservation status on 7 July 1989 and was the site of Singapore’s first urban restoration project at no. 9 Neil Road, that was carried out by the URA. The 1950s Modern-style former Jing Hwa Cinema at 1 Tanjong Pagar Road was given conservation status on 25 Nov 2005 and adds to the variety of heritage buildings in the area.

89 Neil Road
This is a three-storey, neoclassical-style building that was built around 1924. It was the former Eng Aun Tong factory, which manufactured the internationally renowned Chinese herbal medicament, Tiger Balm. An eye-catching feature is the pavilion on the roof-top. This building along Neil Road received conservation status on 18 September 1992 under the voluntary conservation scheme.

 

The Origin of Chinatown

THE ORIGIN OF CHINATOWN is linked to Sir Stamford Raffles. In 1822, he formed a Town Planning Committee to plan Singapore Town according to ethnic groups. The area south of the Singapore River was allocated by sectors to Chinese and Indian immigrants of the same provincial origin and language groups. The Chinese immigrants came mostly from the south-eastern coastal provinces of China.

 

Plan_of_the_Town_of_Singapore_(1822)_by_Lieutenant_Philip_Jackson Raffles town plan 2

 

Hokkiens formed the majority, followed by the Teochews, Cantonese, Hainanese, Hakkas and Foochows. The South Indians also found their niche in this area, though subsequently the centre of Indian commercial and cultural life moved to Serangoon Road. Each group has left its mark on street names and places of worship.

 

THE ARCHITECTURAL STYLES OF SHOPHOUSES

Chinatown’s shophouses can be grouped into six general styles. The styles are
roughly chronological and are the result of changing economic and technological
circumstances, tastes and fashions.

Early 1840-1900 Shophouses

 Low, two storeys with minimal plaster ornamentation
• Locally-sourced construction materials used
• Usually one or two timber windows on the upper storey façade

 

1st Transitional

• Taller and more decorated in a Chinese style due to the influx of skilled labour and rising affluence

• Usually two windows on the upper storey façade

 

Late(1900-1940)

Highly decorated
• Due to an increase in exposure to European tastes and fashion of the time, ornaments used include moulded plaster festoons and importedhand-painted tiles
• Usually three windows on the upper storey façade for maximum ventilation

2nd Transitional

Combination of the Chinese and European styles
• Simpler than the Late-style and more streamlined
• The third floor was often added on to an existing two-storey building

Art Deco (1930-1960)

Geometric designs and pre-cast elements used
• Special emphasis given to street corners with the year of the building’s constructionusually displayed on the façade

Modern(1950-1970)

Functional and simple as a reflection of the post-war situation

• Industrial materials like steel and reinforced concrete used

• Common features include thin sunshade fins and air vents that are both functional as well as decorative

 

 

Chinatown Historic District - Kreta Ayer Area Shophouse for Sale

Chinatown Historic District - Bukit Pasoh Area Chinatown Historic District – Bukit Pasoh Area

Chinatown Historic District – Kreta Ayer Area

Chinatown Historic District - Bukit Pasoh Area Shophouse for Sale

Chinatown Historic District – Bukit Pasoh Area

Chinatown Historic District - Telok Ayer Area Shophouse for Sale

Chinatown Historic District – Telok Ayer Area

 

 Shophouse for sale in Chinatown

*Tips for Singapore Shophouse for sale